Thursday, November 06, 2008

[DVD Launch] Asian Film Archive Collection: Singapore Shorts Vol.2 DVD

Date: 8 November 2008
Time: 2:30pm - 4:00pm
Venue: Kinokuniya, Takashimaya
Address: 391 Orchard Road Ngee Ann City, #03-10/15, Takashimaya Shopping Centre, Singapore 238872
Nearest MRT Station: Orchard

It's been a few years since the Asian Film Archive launched a collection of Singapore short films with its Singapore Shorts Vol. 1 DVD, leaving you wondering if there'll ever be a Vol 2.

Well folks, the wait is finally over! The Asian Film Archive will be launching the much-awaited Singapore Shorts Vol.2 DVD - the second anthology of acclaimed Singapore short films to raise funds for its preservation and cultural mission. Curated on a theme of the Family, the DVD features nine short films made from 1974 to 2007 by local filmmakers such as Boo Junfeng, Brian Gothong Tan, K. Rajagopal, Loo Zihan, Mirabelle Ang, Michael Tay, Rajendra Gour, Ryan Tan and Sandi Tan. Released on DVD for the first time, the short films comes with audio commentaries by the crew and cast and includes bonus material such as directors’ biographies and notes.

Do join and participate in the DVD launch at Kinokuniya (Takashimaya) on 8 November 2008 from 2:30pm to 4:00pm to meet the filmmakers to hear them talk about their films, as well as for a Q&A session and of course, to get your hands on this perfect gift for any film-lover!

The films in this DVD are:
A Family Portrait / Un Retrato De Familia (2004) by Boo Junfeng
Absence (1997) by K. Rajagopal
Autopsy (2007) by Loo Zihan
Gourmet Baby (2001) by Sandi Tan
Imelda Goes to Singapore (2006) by Brian Gothong Tan
Labour of Love – The Housewife (1978) by Rajendra Gour
Match Made (2006) by Mirabelle Ang
Wet Season (2007) by Michael Tay
Yesterday’s Play (2005) by Ryan Tan

Format: DVD PAL, All regions DVD PAL, All regions
ISBN: 978-981-08-1557-8
Audio: English, Mandarin, Tamil, Malayalam, Spanish Teochew, Vietnamese, Tagalog.
Subtitles: English
In Colour and Black & White
Running Time: 133 minutes.
Bonus features:
1. Audio commentaries by Boo Junfeng, Brian Gothong Tan, Cleo Clara, K. Rajagopal, Lim Kay Tong, Loo Zihan, Michael Tay, Mirabelle Ang, Nora Samosir, Rajendra Gour, Ryan Tan, Sharon Loh
2. Restored audio of Labour of Love - The Housewife by Rajendra Gour using tools to improve the sound-to-noise ratio and to reduce clicks, pops, hiss and crackle
3. Directors' notes
4. Gallery of film stills

The DVD can be purchased online at the AFA's Online Shop (free delivery for local orders after 14 Nov) or at Kinokuniya during and after the launch.

More information about the DVD can be found here at the Official DVD Website.

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...